APCS 2005

Okay, let’s try this in code:

if ((yourSchool == HIGH) && (yourClass == APCS) && (youTookAP))
{
    System.out.println(your_Opinion_of_exam);
}

But seriously, how did you find the the exam? The eight students in my APCS-AB class had pretty much one opinion: The multiple choice were easy enough, but the free response were very tough. (I haven’t had the time to go over the questions myself yet.)

Actually, the first AB question (SalmonFish) they got pretty much without incident. (In fact, it looks like a lot of fun to create.) Question 2, involving ZIP codes and MapSets, caused many of them some pain; I guess I should have spent a bit more programming time on those advanced data structures. About half got through the modified TreeNode in Quesiton 3 without too much bloodshed. They universally got pummled with the EMail Map / Set / Queue in Question 4.

Anyway, last year’s scores (the first year I taught an AP class) of 6-1s, 1-2, 4-4s, and 3-5s prompted me to use the term "inverse bell curve." My students this year promise me that they’ve "filled in the missing numbers."

About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in IntoSpaces. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

