Teaching computer skills

I just spent the last 3/4 hr on the phone with my mom. She lives in New York City, or around 220 miles away from Southern New Hampshire where I live. She needed help putting together a chart in Word so she could get the various ministers at her church scheduled for the next couple of months. She’s making the chart in Word, and was getting stuck on getting a table with 100 rows and about 20 columns the first column (for the name) being very wide (3") and the rest very narrow (1/4"), and each row had to be two lines tall. Piece of cake for most of us, I know.

Five years ago this month, as I was being interviewed by my school principal and Alfred Thompson as they tried to see if I could teach computers (I was coming in from industry, never having taught before), the principal asked me how I’d handle a hypothetical situation. What would I do, he asked, if no matter how many times I explained something, one student just didn’t seem to get it. I looked at him with a face that was a mixture of fear and confusion and asked, "My mother is going to be in the class??"

It really is nice to see some things never change.

 

(Yes, mom, I love you too!)

 

COMMENTS FROM theSpoke:

@ Friday, August 05, 2005 6:24 AM

Has it been 5 years already? Wow. Thanks for taking the job BTW. You’re still doing a great job.

AlfredTwo

 

About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in IntoSpaces. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

