The New Year Begins

Next Monday starts my sixth year teaching at Bishop Guertin High School. (Man, how time flies!) For the Fall I’ve got a couple classes of Microsoft Office, a Visual Basic, and an AP Computer Science this semester. (All courses are semester long, except for APCS). In my spare time I also moderate the school’s FIRST Robotics team.

We’re using Visual Studio .NET (2003) for all of the programming classes (which includes the above two and a C++ course covered by another teacher). Overall, I think the curriculum works well, although I’d like to see my AP scores a little higher this year than last. (Wouldn’t we all?)

As I look out at the year to come, and the students I’m likely to see, I’m fairly hopeful. I know that I’m prepared, and that I know the material cold. I mean, I’ve been programming since 1976 or so, I was a software engineer for 17 years, I’ve seen the inside of DOS and Windows system code (including Tony’s Bar and Grill and the BurgerMeister), I’ve been using VB ever since Version 1.0 (in 1990!),  and I’ve been to a number of APCS semenars, a couple at Carnegie Mellon University.

All I have to do now, is transfer this knowledge to (as Rush Limbaugh would say) young skulls full of mush. What could possibly go wrong?

(stay tuned!)

 

COMMENTS FROM theSpoke:

@ Wednesday, August 24, 2005 11:18 AM

Yeah, what could go wrong? go wrong? go wrong? 🙂 have a great year Tom!

AlfredTwo

 

About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in IntoSpaces. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

