Welcome, and welcome back

Today is a banner day for me, in terms of "other people’s software." First of all, the fact that you’re reading this at all means that someone at TheSpoke v2 managed to hear my laments, and got my blog working again. It’s been frustrating, because I’ve had a number of really amazing insights that I haven’t been able to share with anyone, because since my account was blasted to v2 I got an error message any time I tried to add a new entry.

But what’s also amazing is that I’m writing this blog entry from a hotel room in Denver. Why is this so amazing? Because it means that my laptop is talking to hotspots again. Background: I’ve had my Toshiba for two years now, and besides being an amazing workhorse (so much so that I’ve been finally tempted to ditch the desktop in my office), I’ve been able to surf from virtually anywhere (yeah, I know, life’s supposed to be that good). Anyway, prior to my loading of Visual Studio 2005 Beta 2, I had to add Windows XP Service Pack 2. The installation went flawlessly, but someTHING in the updated security managed to turn off my ability to connect to any hotspot other than at my school. I’ve played with bunches of setup switches, and had the two certifiable geniuses (genii?) at school look over the system, but we couldn’t figure anything out. This made the summer really frustrating, because I did a 6,500 mile trip, driving from New Hampshire to Colorado Springs to Yellowstone National Park to Ohio and back, and COULDN’T attach to any of the dozen or more places I stopped. The mystery was that I COULD connect at school.

Right before flying out here this weekend, I played once more with the settings, and when I got into the hotel here … it worked.  Just plain weird.

Which, of course, is a LONG way around saying welcome to my TheSpoke v.2 blog. Hope I don’t bore you too much in the months to come.

About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in IntoSpaces. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

