ChipWits found?

Some months ago (May 31 and June 13), I wrote about a program from a couple of decades ago called ChipWits, which ran on a FatMac (a circa 1985 Mac with 512K of RAM). ChipWits was an amazing program / game / teaching tool that I thought / think / felt / feel could be a wonderful introduction to programming for young and old alike, if only it ran on contemporary hardware. A visit to www.chipwits.com displays a single page that promises a new incarnation is "Coming Soon" (Copyright (c) 1999), but little more. Anyway, I’ve tried to reach the original authors over the year to see if I could encourage or even assist in a new version, with little success, and being the geek I am, I wrote an almost-fully functional version (in VB6).

Every so often (months? seasons?) I do a google search for ChipWits; last night hit some interesting paydirt. It seems that another blogger out there fondly recalls ChipWits, but better yet, both of the original authors (Doug Sharp and Mike Johnston) posted comments in his page!

So, Doug and Mike: If you find this page through a web search on your names, can you drop me a line at indelicato@bghs.org ? I’d appreciate it.

Thanks.

About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in IntoSpaces. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

