Coding for the Fun of it

Did you ever find yourself coding for no reason at all?

Presumably most of the readers out there are into coding, so this should almost be a retorical question. But in all seriousness, yesterday I found myself working on several programs at once, one a game I’ve been "perfecting" for some time, another one for my daughter, and a third as a future assignment for my VB class. Here it was, four days before Christmas, and I’m programming!

Yes, there are several holiday related things I should have been doing, like cleaning the house, wrapping presents, and of course, cooking the Christmas cookies. And most of those got done, eventually. So why is it that I was programming? Because I completely enjoy it so much.

Ages ago, there was a phrase that went, "What other industry is there besides computers where you can get paid big bucks for doing what you would normally be doing on your own anyway?" I always thought that was true, but yesterday I confirmed it to myself.

Merry Christmas To All!

 

COMMENTS FROM theSpoke:

re: Coding for the Fun of it @ Thursday, December 22, 2005 3:57 PM

Yes I do code for fun. Not as much as I used to though. I miss it. Oh and big bucks? Has the pay scale at BG really gone up that much since I left? 🙂 Although to be honest there is much about teaching I do miss. Coding up fun projects to inflict (I mean assign) to students is one of those things. Merry Christmas!

AlfredTwo

re: Coding for the Fun of it @ Thursday, December 22, 2005 6:25 PM

Yep. I code for fun. And also as a displacement activity. Long may we all keep at it! (and a Merry Christmas to you too sir)

RobMiles

Programming with a purpose @ Friday, June 02, 2006 9:41 PM

As members of theSpoke, I think it’s safe to assume that many, if not the majority, of you program in…

Intuitively Obvious

 

About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in IntoSpaces. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

