And NOT recovering lost data

One of my favorite phrases to describe myself is "Me and Murphy go waaaay back," referring of course to Murphy’s Law ("Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong") and the likelihood that it will apply to me.

My last blog entry told about my successful recovery of 67GB of data from a student’s hard drive. Yesterday my wife called from her work (she’s a software engineer) to say her hard drive crashed, and could I fix it. If you look at the last line of my last blog entry, you’ll see the phrase "Now, about those NTFS formats …" Care to guess what kind of drive it is?

I’ll see if I can borrow her drive and image it (do a sector-by-sector copy) to another; it technically has to go back to the manufacturer for warranty purposes. If I can image it, I can take my time to A) learn NTFS, and B) try to recover some of the data. Otherwise, this is what it’s like to be me.

Wish me luck; I’ll keep you posted.

About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in IntoSpaces. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

