Almost, but not quite?

This morning, after assuring myself that I had in fact gotten all of the critical data off of the newly recovered hard drive from my laptop, I got bold, and put the drive back into the laptop. Lo and behold, it booted! I was ecstatic, and proceded to (among other things) restore the desktop computer I was using back to student use. Unfortunately, by lunchtime I encountered another BSD; furthermore, by mid-afternoon it suffered yet another hard crash, and the laptop is no longer bootable.Sad
 
My wife suspects virus; she may be right, but I think it’s more likely that I have a broken OS mix. While I’m ecstatic with the fact I brought the drive back from the dead, I am still a little disappointed it’s not completely healed. The next chance I get (this weekend, or early next week) I will do my MBR/PBS editing again, hopefully getting the system up and running again. THEN I’ll have my MIS guy refresh the NT system, and THEN I’ll do a virus scan. Hopefully that will keep it from spontaneously dying.
About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

