Windows Phone apps?

It’s been about a year since I wrote here. I can’t say “had anything to write”, because I’m ALWAYS thinking of things to write, but I never seem to get off my duff and write. I suppose I have to chalk it up to laziness.

Anyway, after a fairly successful FIRST Robotics season (lots to write there), and before I sink into the annual hell called Scheduling (see my last post on that one), I think I found something to write about. Every year in my AP Computer Science class I strive to get as many kids as possible as full of CS knowledge as possible so that they can take a three-hour test and get the highest score possible. Since the AP Exam takes place in early May, it means I have to figure out what to do with my students for the 4-6 weeks (depending on if they’re juniors or seniors) between the test and the end of the school year. Every year I try to find some large-scale, challenging, and above all else interesting programming assignment for them. Over the years I’ve tried Pocket PC applications, XBox games, Facebook apps (that didn’t go over too well), and last year I even tried a text-based Adventure style game. This year a new option presented itself: We’re gonna try Windows Phone App Programming.

My friend Alfred Thompson has blogged for ages about cool things to do in Visual Studio, and recently has been describing how to develop apps for Windows Phones in Visual Basic or C#. Having recently acquired a Windows Phone, this seems to be a fortitous alignments of planets.

So over the next few days or weeks, I might just find a reason to write more. (Who knows, it may just become a regular event.) In any event, I’ll be sure to describe the apps that my students create; there’s some good talent there.

About Mr. I

After 17 years as a PC Software Engineer I gave it all up in 2000 to become a High School Computer Teacher
This entry was posted in APCS, Programming, Visual Studio, Windows Phone and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

